Digitally accessible vote-by-mail applications

Download the accessible PDF application for your state here. (.zip file)

States included: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.

States included our initial audit who are now actively working with Deque to implement changes: Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, Ohio, Rhode Island and Virginia. (This list will continue to update.)

States not included who do not require an application: California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, Utah.

States not included who offer an accessible alternative application: Massachusetts, Michigan.

State provided vote-by-mail applications are not as accessible as they could be. While a handful of states are moving toward automatic mail-in ballot options, not requiring an application at all, those who are still requiring a PDF application have an average of 10 serious or critical accessibility issues.

Many people with disabilities may be adversely impacted by these barriers, making it difficult or impossible to complete the documents independently.

We urge state Election Officials to download these accessible versions of your PDFs and make them publicly available, removing any barriers that prevent people with disabilities from utilizing the critically important mail-in vote option.

Election Officials are also encouraged to contact us with questions via the form provided. We are happy to provide full transparency, describing the exact changes made to these documents to help make them accessible, without compromising integrity of the content.

Looking to learn and improve document accessibility yourself? Get started here.

Election Official Inquiries