Section 508 compliance in Agile and DevOps

By: Preety Kumar


thumbnail-Agile-Section-508Federal Agencies are uniquely positioned to impact accessibility for persons with
disabilities as an integral part of product quality. In fact, with the volume of traffic
received by Federal Agency websites (3.49 Billion visitors over the last 90 days
according to, a fast, productive and relevant online experience is crucial
to fulfilling the mission of the agencies.


Recognizing this, the U.S. Digital Service created a Digital Services Playbook with 13
key “plays” to help the government build and deliver effective digital services. While the Digital Service Plays only explicitly call out accessibility once, I think the way they are written still encompasses the spirit of making public applications accessible to people with disabilities.


Register here to access Preety Kumar's interpretation of how accessibility fits into these 13 Digital Service Plays.

  1. Understand what people need
  2. Address the whole experience, from start to finish
  3. Make it simple and intuitive
  4. Build the service using agile and iterative practices
  5. Structure budgets and contracts to support delivery
  6. Assign one leader and hold that person accountable
  7. Bring in experienced teams
  8. Choose a modern technology stack
  9. Deploy in a flexible hosting environment
  10. Automate testing and deployments
  11. Manage security and privacy through reusable processes
  12. Use data to drive decisions
  13. Default to open

Register Now!